MenuClose
Tel: 01749 834 500 Contact us for a quote

Important Information for Car Insurance Customers regarding Brexit

Important information for all Higos Car Insurance customers – please read if you are taking your vehicle abroad after 29 March 2019 (or will be abroad during this period with your vehicle).

In the event of a no-deal Brexit, the current outlook is that you will need a Green Card and International Driving Permit (IDP) to take your vehicle abroad after 29 March 2019. 

Please contact us one month prior to driving your vehicle abroad so we can arrange to issue you with a Green Card. If you are travelling and will be abroad with your vehicle over the period of 29 March 2019, please contact us immediately. 

Green Cards and Driving Abroad

After 29 March all UK Motorists will potentially need to have a Green Card to: 

  • Take your vehicle to countries in the European Union (EU)/European Economic Area (EEA) – such as France and Germany for a family holiday 
  • Travel across the Northern Ireland – Republic of Ireland border 
  • Transport goods (freight companies) into the EU/EEA 
  • For countries that require separate trailer insurance, a separate Green Card may be required for the trailer. 

 

What is a Green Card?

It is essentially proof of your insurance, which could be required under EU/EEA law. Your Green Card will be issued by your insurer and you should contact us one month in advance of travelling to request your Green Card.

If you travel without a Green Card, you may be breaking the law. This applies to EU/EEA motorists travelling to the UK also. 

Please note that you will need to carry a physical card with you, this is not something you can have a digital copy of. 

 

Will Green Cards definitely be needed in the case of a no-deal Brexit? 

In May 2018 an agreement was made between the European insurance authorities to waive the need for Green Cards in the event of a no-deal Brexit. However, this agreement was not confirmed by the European Commission which is why the insurance industry is still planning for Green Cards. 

 

International Driving Permit (IDP) 

UK driving licence holders who live in the UK currently need an IDP in addition to their driving licence to drive in some countries outside the EU and EEA, and can drive in these countries with their IDP. 

There are currently two types of IDP. From 28 March 2019, a third type of IDP will be issued with the type of IDP that some countries recognise changing. 

In the event of a no-deal Brexit, from 29 March 2019, you will potentially need an IDP in addition to your UK driving licence to drive in EU and EEA countries when visiting. You may need more than one IDP depending on the countries you are going to. 

You can get IDPs over the counter at 2,500 UK post offices. The cost of each IDP is £5.50.  

More information on this process and applying for an IDP can be found here.  

 

For more information and to request your Green Card please contact your local branch:


Bath | bath@higos.com | 01454 285 255

Bridgwater | bridgwater@higos.com | 01278 453 345

Bridport | bridport@higos.com | 01308 423 777

Bude | bude@higos.com | 01288 355 295

Clevedon | clevedon@higos.com | 01275 876 678

Devizes | devizes@higos.com | 01380 729 550

Dursley | dursley@higos.com | 01453 542 308

Newton Abbot | newtonabbot@higos.com | 01626 332 433

Plymouth | plymouth@higos.com | 01752 401 680

Somerton | somerton@higos.com | 01458 270 370

Southampton | parkgate@higos.com | 01489 559 033

Street | street@higos.com | 01458 844 155

Yeovil | yeovil@higos.com | 01935 706 258

Please contact us one month prior to driving your vehicle abroad so we can arrange to issue you with a Green Card. 

If you are travelling and will be abroad with your vehicle over the period of 29 March 2019, please contact us immediately.